Any Ideas?

This is a large painting in progress (and has been for almost a year and a half…Once I started full time work last summer and the choir, my time just disappeared). I have no idea what it is or means, just that I was drawing and stopped when the sketch felt right. Or just felt strange enough…

I lack inspiration and faith in my own creativity. It’s been this way for months and I’ve just tried to ignore how much I feel like a fraud when I attempt new art or when even looking at my past work. It’s like a completely different person owns them and I can only stand aside, wishing I could have back what it seems I’ve lost in trying to adjust to my life now. I’m stranded and have no idea what comes next, what I want or where I’ll be. I just know I would rather see my time here come to a close than feel hopeless any longer. Things are okay, but I don’t think that’s enough anymore. I feel as if I’m slipping away and can only think why bother fighting it.

Anyway, I need a title for this picture. I’ve begun coloring and the background reminds me of a fresh, spring morning, but how that ties into the weird portrait, I don’t know. It doesn’t even have to make sense. I’m just going to finish it because I want nothing left undone.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Any Ideas?

  1. Call the piece “Homage to Penelope”. And make the work last many years if it must. I hope that one day you will be rewarded with your fondest wish.

Leave a Reply

