Stop wanting.

“The eye goes blind when it only wants to see why.” -Rumi

“For a while we lived with people,
but we saw no sign in them of the faithfulness we wanted.
It’s better to hide completely within
as water hides in metal,
as fire hides in a rock.”

-Quatrain 1082 by Rumi, Open Secret

This is the first sketch after an unacceptably long break from drawing. One of those days where I could do little more than try showing how I felt, and hope to breathe again when I set my pencil down. The week has been a challenge I did not want to make any more difficult with a fight. Lonesomeness has weighed so heavily in me, I don’t think I deserve worth toward others or that I can belong in the way I’ve hoped. And I know these conclusions mean little. I will put them in a song and keep trying to get over.

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “Stop wanting.

  1. I am watching FaceOff and your drawings are so perfect for the unique characters that they make on that show! I am so sorry for your loneliness, but you aren’t “alone” with this feeling.

  2. An especially fine drawing Allyson, line like barbed wire. Well done.

Leave a Reply

