An Edge My Own

Everything should be set for me to start classes next month. Haven’t been feeling so great lately. Tired, and I’m letting people and their opinions get to me. You know, watching the news, listening to people bitch and whine while I try to remind myself to breathe, and not have everyone else’s problems drag me into a worse mood. It happens too often…

Anyway, I’ve decided that even with school going on for the next few months, I have to set aside time to write. It will probably be bland and not worth the ink but writing it down anyway will probably keep my mind open to some stranger ideas. I’m hoping.

Here’s a new poem too. It’s basically rolling up everything, the past with the feeling that it can turn you into something unrecognizable, how past events can sometimes catch up and suddenly ruin the present. And I guess it’s also about being on edge, ready for something to break.

A harsh pattering of ice

Novice slits falling from the sky

Delivered chill of the wind chime

Lightning’s blizzard hidden strike


Mirrors broken before dawn, of

Night’s hypnotic dissolution

Snaps and screams and tears within

Ruins the mornings fail to mend


I’m grin eclipsed; they all misconstrue

Lost truth turning the ready screw

Smoked glass, its break few cracks away

They’ll wait then worry once it’s too late


But no, the airy, joyous fools have fled

Their terrorizing hope at rest

As I lean against an edge my own

Refuse of time, in moments of a

Depthless mould

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Death, Life, personal, poems, poetry, Thoughts

One response to “An Edge My Own

  1. lucienlachance

    I know what you mean. I have that way about me as well; if my parents are in a bad mood it tends to permeate my own. I guess some of us are just like that, unfortunately.

    Yes, you should definitely keep writing. I know it always keeps me more level-headed. Besides, your stuff is amazing, and I always enjoy reading it. You really are a poet. :)

    “They’ll wait then worry once it’s too late”

    Don’t they though…. It’s always when it is too late. That’s what is so funny. I have to wonder sometimes if the world isn’t completely blind. It certainly seems that way at times.

    The ending was very strong with this one, very striking. It just shows the way you feel about them, the ‘joyous fools’. How they are terrorizing, with all of their thoughts of hope and optimisim that always seem so unfounded. I don’t know, perhaps I am just biased in that respect. Wouldn’t be the first time.

    Sorry if this makes no sense; I haven’t had much sleep the last few days. I’m a little fuzzy. Anyway, I wish you the best, as always. I think the training will be good for you right now, you know?

Leave a Reply

